Simplicity Pattern 1609 Shift Dress

I’ve been a bit lazy on the old dressmaking front recently, a few iffy and unfinished projects turned me off it. I missed making my own clothes though so I decided to ease myself into it with a nice easy pattern; Simplicity 1609. I got all my bits and bobs ready and cut out the pieces I needed to make view B of the pattern.

15453690323_006a2fdeec_o

 

I used a lovely piece of Amy Butler Henna Paisley to make the dress, I figured it would layer up nicely in the cold weather and brighten up dark days but would also make a sweet summer dress.

15451045784_93729a2b4e_o

The pattern came together beautifully and was a dream to make up. The trickiest part was matching up the facing but even then, I just needed a bit of patience.

15887263859_ce0bb624a9_o

(The light was going here a bit so the pictures aren’t great).

I managed the whole dress in an afternoon and wore it out to meet friends in Glasgow last night. I got a lot of compliments and will definitely be running up a few more of these staples! Last night I teamed this with a turquoise short sleeved sweater (with the bow popping out at the neck line), turquoise tights and navy blue shoes and bag. I felt very bright!

16072648262_86c61bfecb_o

 

10 thoughts on “Simplicity Pattern 1609 Shift Dress

    • Thank you so much. I was really pleased with the outcome. I love your black version, the fabric is amazing! I really fancy making some in lighter cottons for the summer and I’m thinking maybe a cord one to layer for the winter.

      I love the idea of lace sleeves, let me know how you get on!

      Sarah

      Like

  1. Pingback: Vintage Shift Dress | Honey Hi Stitches

Leave a Reply

